FOL gets ready for bachelor auction 2013

Monday, 12 November 2012
I'm on the bachelor auction planning committee for Friends of Literacy again this year. It is one of our most successful fund raisers and - it's just fun! I recruited Josh Ault from WATE-TV and Nick Zacherrati who works is the film industry in Knoxville.

All of our bachelors have to fill out an application and I've really enjoyed reading their answers. Some of the ladies on the committee talked about how we would answer if we had to fill it out ourselves. Why do ladies just love filling out surveys and interviews? I don't know but the guys seem to hate it.

I've posted my answers below. Feel free to copy and paste this to your blog and have fun contemplating your answers!


Dream Job: Cooking show hostess (I loooove to cook, bake and eat. I also love talking about cooking, baking and eating)

Where are you from? St. Joseph, Missouri (home of the Pony Express)

What do you like about living in East TN? East Tennessee is still full of green space. I have a large backyard and love spending time at Norris Lake and camping in Blount County. It takes me less than an hour to get to some of my favorite outdoor sanctuaries.

Do you have any volunteer involvement? Tell us about where you volunteer, what you do, and why: I serve on the board of Friends of Literacy which is a charity that works to raise the adult literacy rate in Knox County, help adults earn their GEDs and ultimately get back into work force.

Hobbies, interests, likes? Happiness to me is being near the water (lake, stream, creek, ocean) with a great non-fiction book. I love to float in the ocean after an interesting snorkeling trip. Cooking is a way that I express creativity and relax. There's just something about seeing chopped, beautiful ingredients coming together to form a tasty dish. 

Dislikes, pet-peeves? I'm not a big fan of people with abrasive personalities. Live and let live, don't you think? My point is: no thank you to extreme views. I live my life how I think is best and you should too.

What is most likely to make you smile? James. :) The man has a unique sense of humor that seems to get me every time. Time with my family and my cats acting silly will also always spark a smile.

What is playing on your IPod/radio right now? I listen to NPR like a fiend because we can get local news on the hour every hour as well as the weather. My favorite music includes jazz (specifically brass!), reggae and blues.

If you could travel to one place, where would it be and why? I love champagne and would like to go that region in France to learn more about production. Besides that, I'm interested in going to Thailand to a resort that operates as an elephant reserve. Travelers get to help care for the animals during their stay. So cool!

If you could meet one person (living or dead) who would it be and why? I would like to talk with Joan of Arc (Jeanne d'Arc). My family descends from her lineage. She was a woman before her time and pushed boundaries to be a leader of the French army and take her country back from English rule.

Describe your ideal first date: Ideally, I'd like to meet someone out for dinner or a drink for a first date. Conversation would be casual with lots of laughter. I get nervous before first dates, interviews, etc. so feeling comfortable even in a potentially tense situation is important for me.

How would your friends describe you? I think my friends would say I'm focused, kind, independent and funny (at least that's what I hope they'd say).

Favorite saying or quote: No worries. Worrying does't accomplish anything except keeping the cycle of anxiety rolling. Things will either happen or they won't. We control our reaction. I learned this from my mother -- as long as those we love are healthy and out of danger, we should try to be content. 

Favorite restaurant or hang out: Even though I enjoy being social and often get energy from being around people, I love my home. I recently redesigned my living room and it feels warm, cozy and inspirational. The space is great for working on papers and it's directly next to the kitchen (perfect for cooking while working).

What was the last thing you read? Theories of communication, an introduction reader (I'm trying to get my PhD and have little time for pleasure reading).

Favorite movie: I'm not a big fan of movies. I hate sitting still for hours and like to multi-task while watching TV.

First thing people usually notice about you? My eyes. They're large. O-O

Something unique most people don’t know about you? I am a published author. My work is featured in international magazines: Arrivals & Departures, and Avantoure.

Three things you can’t live without? Laughter, WiFi, friends/family.

Superpower you most desire? Flight. 

Accomplishment you are most proud of? I'm happy that I was able to buy my own house. I'm also really proud of moving to another country on my own and earning my Master's Degree.

The craziest thing I have ever done? I used to walk around in Over-the-Rhine in Cincinnati at 4am as a news reporter trying to get information about shootings and crime. That was HIGHLY dangerous and I would never even dream of doing that now. It was expected and at that age, I had no fear.

Favorite article of clothing? My vintage mink coat (NOTE: I support recycling and reusing fur but not purchasing new).

Anything else we should know about you? I love my power tools.



1 comment

~C~ said...

This was fun to read. :)